Tags

,

I might not normally think to do something like this since it is hard to imagine anyone really cares what I think, but I need a good excuse to keep blogging every couple of days.  So here I go.

Here are my answers to Random Wizard’s Top Ten Troll Questions for Your Game:

  1. Race (Elf, Dwarf, Halfling) as a class? Yes or no?
    Yes
  2. Do demi-humans have souls?
    Yes (odd question)
  3. Ascending or descending armor class?
    Ascending
  4. Demi-human level limits?
    Yes (dwarf clerics are NPCs)
  5. Should thief be a class?
    Yes
  6. Do characters get non-weapon skills?
    This is a tough one, surprisingly.  My inclination is Hell No (after years of 3.5 & Pathfinder), but actually, I like the idea for certain things.  What things?  I’m working on that.  I guess things that do not replace poor role playing?  I’ll get back to you on this one.
  7. Are magic-users more powerful than fighters (and, if yes, what level do they take the lead)?
    Another difficult question. If by powerful you mean more effective in a combat situation, then I guess the answer is yes, and it pretty much starts immediately (Sleep). However, in looking a bit deeper, you have to say maybe.  Wizards and their kind are always vulnerable (no armor and low hps) and limited in their versatility (fireball doesn’t help much against a fire elemental).
  8. Do you use alignment languages?
    No (never did, but thieves and druids have their own secret languages)
  9. XP for gold, or XP for objectives (thieves disarming traps, etc…)?
    Both actually, leaning more heavily on the latter.
  10. Which is the best edition; ODD, Holmes, Moldvay, Mentzer, Rules Cyclopedia, 1E ADD, 2E ADD, 3E ADD, 4E ADD, Next ?
    Moldvay

Bonus Question: Unified XP level tables or individual XP level tables for each class?
Individual.

